Independence Beach Volleyball tourney excites

On Saturday, 19 and Sunday, 20 March 2022, the Namibian Volleyball Federation (NVF) hosted the annual Bank Windhoek Independence Beach Open Volleyball Tournament for the country's best male and female teams at the Mole Beach in Swakopmund.

The two-day event saw 25 teams participating in six divisions: the Under 19 boys and girls, men, and women two-a-side and two a-side social and four a-side social categories.

Jan Eric Sack and Luke Brinkmann won the two-a-side men's final in two sets against Stefanus Kandandjera and Tobias Andreas. In the preliminary rounds, Kandandjera and Andreas beat Sack and Brinkmann in straight sets. The final was hotly contested, showcasing four of the athletes giving the spectators a delightful game.

The boys under 19 players joined the senior players in the main draw, while the girls under 19 joined the ladies' round robin. The under 19 boys Fabian Biederlack and Luca Kesselmann ended third overall in the men's two-a-side. Sisters Romy and Pia Lück completed their tournament with a second-place finish in the ladies' two-a-side competition.

Sponsored by Bank Windhoek, NVF President Hillary Dux Imbuwa said that the event is one of the top popular beach volleyball gatherings on the NVF beach calendar. "For this reason, we as NVF will always remain grateful to Bank Windhoek for their continued supportive role in the game of volleyball development. The NVF's new beach Volleyball Director Achim Lück highlighted that beach volleyball is growing in popularity, especially among youth. "Sport is important because it teaches the youth team spirit and discipline while at the same time contributes to a healthy mind and body."

Imbuwa added that Namibia has excellent potential for more beach volleyball players, and given the right opportunity and support, many of them could represent the country at both continental and international levels.

The results for the divisions are as follows:

Men's two-a-side

  1. Luke Brinkmann and Jan Eric Sack
  2. Stefanus Kangandjera and Tobias Andreas
  3. Luca Kesselmann and Fabian Biederlack

    Women two-a-side
  1. Teja Lück and Carmen Curschmann
  2. Romy Lück and Piroschka Lück
  3. Hendrina Iindongo and Cathrine Thomas

    Boys Under 19 two-a-side
  1. Luca Kesselmann and Fabian Biederlack
  2. Roman Dainat and Max Krafft
  3. Jura Krafft and Liam Wegener

    Girls Under 19 two-a-side
  1. Romy Lück and Piroschka Lück
  2. Mila and Raica Coehlo

    Socials two-a-side
  1. Angula Leah and Barnes Jony Barnes
  2. Lukas Neuhaus and Melissa Zimny
  3. Oliver Ahrens and Celine Ahrens

    Socials four-a-side
  1. Team Kasha
  2. Team High Voltage
  3. Team Epicentre

Capricorn Group(CGP) Share Price:   
Currency Exchange Rates to N$: