Professor Totëmeyer wins ATKV Oswald Rall Theart Award

The 25th Bank Windhoek ATKV ('Afrikaanse Taal en Kultuur Vereniging' – Afrikaans Language and Culture Association) Pluimpies Awards Ceremony took place on Friday 24 September 2021, at Safari Hotel in Windhoek. The Pluimpie Awards credits individuals, institutions, publishers and companies who make a significant contribution towards the Afrikaans by modernising and keeping the language relevant.

Twenty-three contestants received awards in the categories Pluimpies, Donsies and Veertjies. Well-known figure in local literary circles, Professor Andree-Jeanne Totëmeyer, won the The Oswald Rall Theart Award, sponsored by the Theart family in memory of the late Oswald Rall Theart. Theart was a Namibian poet, writer, philosopher and lyricist, whose writing career was short but impactful. He published eighteen books and produced three CDs and has entered many creative works for the ATKV Pluimpies. 

Totëmeyer received an “A plus" for her anthology “Kaalvoet in die reën en ander verse vir kinders" from the judges. The anthology is targeted at adults who are involved in children as parents, grandparents, educators, kindergarten, pre-primary and primary school teachers. The work is suited to children up to the age of twelve.

The anthology comprises 147 rhymes, verses and poems divided into eight sections, according to age group and themes.

Dr Emma Kirscher, Senior Lecturer at the University of Namibia describes the structures and compilation of Totëmeyer's anthology as excellent. “The divisions are practical, with clear story patterns in the poems, which links strongly to the Namibian world of the reader, integrating the modern world with what is happening on the farm. Very good themes, excellent rhyme, rhythmical patterns, and extremely useful content for the classrooms and at home," she said.

“The judges looked at the creative use of the Afrikaans language, originality, creativity and what contribution the entry brings towards Namibian Afrikaans," concluded Kirscher.​

Other award winners includes:


  • Professor Andree-Jeanne Tötemeyer – Poetry
  • Anne-Marie Walters – Writer

Nominated Awards:

  • Pro-Ed Akademie privaatskool - 25 Years
  • Keetmanshoop Privaatskool  - 25 Years
  • Hendrik and Leoni van Rensburg  - ATKV 25 years
  • Privaatskool Moria -25 years


  • Louis Conradie – Poetry
  • Jolene Nel – Poetry
  • Hester Steenkamp – Writer
  • Didi Kruger – Writer
  • Corina Becker – Writer
  • Jurie Viljoen – Writer 
  • Sarel du Toit – Music
  • Koster Cronje – Lyrics

 Nominated Awards:

  • Jessica Thomas –presenter 15 years
  • Anita Naude – ATKV 15 years
  • Charlie and Ansa Ellis –ATKV 15 years


  • Marlene Erasmus – Poetry
  • Epenetus du Toit – Poetry
  • Marsofine Krynauw – Poetry
  • Anton C H du Preez  - Poetry
  • Rowan van Dyk – Lyrics
  • Hannes du Plessis – Poetry

Nominated Awards:

  • Chantelle van den Bergh - ATKV 5 years
  • Heloise Steynberg  - ATKV 5 years
  • Tara van Eck – presenter 5 years

Special Award:

  • Oswald Rall Theart – Professor Andree-Jeanne Tötemeyer - Poetry
Capricorn Group(CGP) Share Price:   
Currency Exchange Rates to N$: